RSS

Where God Is

11 Jan

My last post took a lot out of me. I really had to talk myself into posting it, and I was terrified that people would be horribly offended at what an awful mother I am. I was completely surprised and overwhelmed by the support and encouragement that so many of you sent to me via comments on the post and private messages. Thank you so much! I wrote in hopes of encouraging someone else out there, but maybe – just maybe – God had me write for my own encouragement.

And now it’s been a few weeks already. I survived (and all of my children survived) the Christmas holidays. We are into the second week back to school and I feel like I’m starting to unclench (although we have a PA day this week already. Why, oh why?!?!) I haven’t had a chance to spend much time on writing, except to update our family blog (visit www.allourheart.com if you’re interested) but I do have a favourite that I’d like to share with you. This is a poem that I wrote a few years ago. I hope you like it!

Where God Is

There is no place, no tiny space
Where Almighty God can’t go
He reigns in might, dispels the night
Such strength, we cannot know

There is no place, no unknown space
Where Creator God is not
The mountain peak, the ocean’s deep
All from His hand is wrought

There is no place, no second’s space
Eternal God won’t see
Each moment’s planned, held in His hand
Exactly as should be

There is no place, no far-off space
Where God is out of reach
He draws us near, and holds us dear
And hearkens to our speech

There is no place, no dreadful space
Where God’s love can’t be found
It’s long and high and deep and wide
Can’t be contained or bound

There is no place, no darkened space
God’s mercy cannot heal
He gave His Son, the battle’s won
His blood, salvation’s seal

There is no place in Heaven’s space
Where God can welcome sin
His purity means surety
For all who ask Him in

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2011 in Family, God

 

2 responses to “Where God Is

  1. Clara

    January 11, 2011 at 3:32 PM

    Beautiful poem. It should be published. And who could not admire a woman/mother who shares her innermost feelings in such an open and honest way. Anita, there are many women/mothers out there who feel the same way but are afraid to share because of lashback by society. Good for you. I admire you for overcoming that fear.

     
    • Anita Neuman

      January 11, 2011 at 3:36 PM

      Thanks, Clara! This actually has been published. 🙂 Thanks for your ever-sweet words of encouragement and friendship!

       

Leave a Reply

 
