RSS

A Paranormal Blogospheric Blip

31 Aug

Did you feel the tremor last week? No? I sure did! It was a couple of days before we left for our family vacation, so the timing wasn’t super-great. But it’s not like you can plan these sorts of things.

Out of the blue, a couple of new readers shared one of my posts on facebook/pinterest/twitter and just like that, I went from getting less than 100 hits a day to thousands. At the height of the frenzy, I had a three-day total of over 8400 views. Yikers!

It has since calmed down again, but I picked up a few new followers along the way. (I hate that word, “followers”. Sounds rather cultish. For the record, I am not a cult.) Now I’ve entered this bizarre territory whereby two thirds of my followers (I am not a cult) are people I’ve never met. This begs two questions:

  1. Why have all of you who read me regularly via facebook not entered your email address and clicked that little “yes please” button yet? You actually know me and love me. Oh yes you do!
  2. What attracted the people who don’t know me personally?

I can’t answer the first question. Maybe you can. And maybe your answer is, “I keep forgetting, but thanks for the reminder. Click.” Thank you for being my newest follower. (I am not a cult.)

But that’s just me being silly. I’d like to focus on the second question and address my new readers.

I would prefer to think that you read more than one post to get a broader perspective of who I am before you decided to follow me (I am not a cult). But perhaps you simply agreed with my thoughts on modesty (which is the post that caused the blogospheric tremble) and signed up right away. If that’s the case, I’d like to warn you that I’m not always that deep.

I try. And I like to explore different topics that are meaningful to me and that I’m learning more about in my own faith journey. But sometimes all I’ve got are silly stories about my kids or something stupid that I’ve done (good golly Miss Molly, I’d like to have a decreasing number of examples in that category!). Yes, I write from a Christian worldview, but I’m very pleased to have an assortment of followers (I am not a cult). I am quite firm in my beliefs, but I do appreciate outside opinions and I love the beauty of diversity. So, we can all be friends, even if you don’t happen to share my faith.

And so, if you haven’t yet gotten the full picture of how my brain works and what you’re in for as one of my followers (I am not a cult), please allow me to offer you this comparison: I blog the same way that I mow the lawn. Behold my stunning visual aid!

I cover a lot of territory. I come at things from different angles. I might still miss a few spots. I have a lot of fun. I don’t give much thought to how other people think it should be done. I enjoy the exercise it provides. I get blisters on my hands (oh wait, that one doesn’t apply to blogging). It probably appears random to most people, but I’m just not a back-and-forth-in-straight-lines kind of gal.

With that, I close this introductory post (which happens to be my 50th) and warmly welcome all my new followers (I am not a cult)! Please donate generously and your monogrammed hoodie-robe will arrive in the mail in 8-10 weeks.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 31, 2012 in Humour, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “A Paranormal Blogospheric Blip

  1. Kathleen Wells

    September 1, 2012 at 7:50 AM

    Glad to still be one of your “followers” Anita!!! (Are you sure you’re not a cult??LOL)

     
  2. costcogirlmel

    September 1, 2012 at 10:49 AM

    Lol! Kathleen, I was just going to say that too! Nita, your writing is fun, interesting, quirky, grammatically correct (thanks mom for raising kids to read,write, and spell correctly!) AND hit many nails on their heads. No wonder you are gaining interest! Keep it up girl! I will be joining the blogging club now that I am retired!

     
  3. Tracy Milstead

    September 1, 2012 at 10:55 AM

    I’d like to answer question #2 for you about myself. You are a dear friend of a dear friend of mine. Since it isn’t likely we will be able to sit down and chat to get to know each other, I wanted to get to know you better by reading what you have to write in your blog. I figure, if my friend loves you as much as she does, I wanna get to know this fabulous woman! 🙂

     
    • Anita Neuman

      September 1, 2012 at 11:08 AM

      Tracy, that is the SWEETEST answer!!! Isn’t Shelby just the best?

       
  4. Tracy Milstead

    September 2, 2012 at 10:58 AM

    Yes, by golly, Shelby IS the best!

     
  5. stayawhileletschat

    December 2, 2012 at 7:17 AM

    that was a really creative way to explain what your blog is about 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
