RSS

My Song of Thanks

05 Oct

I wrote this song yesterday when life was hard. And I recorded it this morning when life got harder. I don’t claim to have cornered the market on Crappity Crap. So I’m not giving you this because I think my life is so much harder than everyone else’s. But I have found that the only way I can survive is to trust God’s goodness and thank Him repeatedly for His perfect plan that will eventually work good out of my current mess. I don’t need to share my whole mess with you – Heaven knows you have your own. But I wanted to share my Thanksgiving song.

A friend of mine just posted this quote on facebook. It is beautiful and perfect for me today. “Sometimes we make the foolish assumption that our heavenly Father has no right to insist that we trust him unless he makes his infinite wisdom completely understandable to us. What we call the problem of evil is often the problem of our finite and fallen understanding.” ~ R. Alcorn

My understanding is definitely finite. And I am viewing my problems and heartaches through the lens of my own sin and shortcomings. But God is viewing my whole life through the lenses of His perfect will and His goodness and His knowledge of the future. He is good. I trust Him.

(Don’t draw attention to your pathetic accompaniment, Anita. Don’t do it. GAH! I can’t leave the elephant unaddressed. Yes, my piano is out of tune and my “skills” are amateur at best. Plus I lost my place right near the end and that’s just too bad. Please try to disregard all that and simply be encouraged by the lyrics.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UDH1E1XvcB4&feature=youtu.be

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 5, 2012 in God, parenting, Personal Growth

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “My Song of Thanks

  1. Clara

    October 5, 2012 at 9:15 PM

    Once again Anita you have shown me the strength we all need to aspire to when our own weakness holds us back from trusting in Him completely. Ron sends me postings from Girlfriends in God each day and there was one recently that moved me. She talked about our transparency, or lack of. We prefer to let everyone think that our world is perfect. I’m fine, I’m okay, no problem, smiles pasted on to show the world we mean it when we say “I’m fine, don’t worry about me”. Hogwash. I have learned to say that I’m feeling sad when I’m sad, that my day sucks, no, I’m not fine. How can we expect people to help, to pray for us, unless they know the truth. Jesus showed dissapointment at the temple and turned over tables. He showed his feelings, and do we dare think we are better than Him. He’s not telling us to put on a false face. He’s asking us to tell Him how we feel and trust in Him to make it better. That’s what you did. You had a really bad couple days and you reached out to Him and said Thank You. You acknowledged that only He could make it better and you opened your heart to Him. Thank you Anita.

     
    • Anita Neuman

      October 5, 2012 at 9:31 PM

      Aw, Clara, you are so delightful to me! You just lift me up again and again and again. I love you!

       
  2. Chris Hunking

    October 6, 2012 at 7:36 AM

    wow excellent Anita, I want a copy of that song for my car. Powerful and uplifting.

     
  3. Jcmmanuel

    October 6, 2012 at 7:49 AM

    Reminds me of Rebecca St James who always said she’s a fan of simplicity. Once she was feeling down (of all the touring etc.) and she went to her pastor. He finally asked her: “Rebecca, can God be trusted?” She said yes. The pastor said “Then trust Him.” – And this made her going with a new outlook on these things.

    Obviously it isn’t always like that. This worked for Rebecca, it works for you, but maybe not always. It certainly doesn’t work for me although sometimes it does. But there are many ways we try to deal with these things and all of them are as real as we are. I have no doubts that the ability to trust (and to believe) is a big thing. If we do it the right way (with reason) then it may include all of our emotions as well. It’s all right. We travel towards the same destiny.

    Nice song & singing. Emotion makes us vulnerable, but also beautiful.

     
  4. Kathleen Wells

    October 6, 2012 at 8:20 AM

    THANK YOU, Anita!! & I thank God for this connection to “younger” old friends,& reminders of the (Thankfully?) long past teenage years of the young people under our care!!! God IS Faithful, & New every morning, & meets our needs in surprising ways sometimes. I will continue to pray for your family. This has met MY needs this morning! BTW……”I” LOVE your singing & your PIANO PLAYING!!! (It sounds “real”) HAPPY THANKSGIVING to you ALL!!!! & GOD BLESS (again!) Love, Kathleen

     
  5. Linda

    October 6, 2012 at 1:31 PM

    Very nice Anita. Felt it in my heart. God says he won’t give us more than we can handle but unfortunately his idea and our idea of what we can handle seem to differ at times. God says in everything give thanks and we know we are never thankful for the trouble at the time but you know in the end it is training and we come out the other side better than we were. So thank you God for Anita’s musical abilities and her big heart and funny ways and wearing her heart on her sleeve. Clara is right, we do keep everything to ourselves. “What a Friend we have in Jesus, All our sins and griefs to bear! What a privilege to carry Everything to God in prayer! O what peace we often forfeit, O what needless pain we bear, All because we do not carry Everything to God in prayer! Sometimes during the midst of our struggles we forget to reach out to God and think we can handle it ourselves but I have found it a really nice perk of Christianity to count on your friends to uplift you in prayer when you are down. Chin up their girl and keep on pluggin on, sometimes only one minute at a time is all we can handle. Love and Prayers, Linda

     
    • Anita Neuman

      October 6, 2012 at 1:52 PM

      Thank you, Linda! Such sweet words of encouragement!

       

Leave a Reply

 
