RSS

Reader Beware: Angry Rant Coming Your Way

02 Nov

screen capture from 5hourenergy.com

This campaign really ticks me off.  5-hour Energy (a multi-billion dollar company that enjoys ownership of 90% of the energy drink market) is trying to market themselves as being a cheerleader for fighting cancer. Are you freaking kidding me?!?!

Want to fight cancer, people? I’ll tell you how.

Stop filling your body with carcinogenic crap!

These energy drinks are filled with artificial sweeteners, artificial flavours, artificial colours…all of these are chemicals and they are toxic. Intentionally putting this stuff into your body is suicide. Allowing your kids to put this stuff into their bodies is child abuse.

Please don’t let a pink ribbon on the packaging lull you into thinking that you’re somehow doing something good by purchasing that product.

If you need energy, go for a walk. Get a good night’s sleep. Have a glass of water. Eat an orange. But for crying out loud, stop with the chemical consumption.

The same goes for cigarettes, McDonalds, Coke (especially the diet stuff. I mean, come on already!). Just stop it.

I know I’m not a paragon of healthy eating, but I do at least put some effort into avoiding total trash and finding ways to make my family’s diet healthier. Yes, we still eat meat, but we pay for hormone-free, antibiotic-free, air-chilled meat. Yes, we still have white bread sometimes, but I make it myself, so it doesn’t have all kinds of chemical preservatives in it.

But healthier food is so expensive, you say? Well, yes, it usually is. But here’s the thing: it’s cheaper than chemo.

So go ahead and fight cancer. Fight it by being “mean” enough to make your children eat vegetables and drink water. Fight it by doing regular breast self-exams and getting pap smears – you know, all the fun stuff. Fight it by asking about your family history and knowing what to watch for. Fight it by staying out of the sun. Fight it by not being taken in by this scam of a marketing campaign.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on November 2, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “Reader Beware: Angry Rant Coming Your Way

  1. Shelby Somers

    November 2, 2012 at 3:29 PM

    YES, for crying out LOUD! You can get a witness…right here! AMEN!

     
    • Anita Neuman

      November 2, 2012 at 3:31 PM

      Aw, shucks, I love it when you witness! 🙂

       
  2. Laura Nunn

    November 2, 2012 at 3:38 PM

    AMEN.

     
  3. Tracy Milstead

    November 2, 2012 at 4:24 PM

    Preach it sistah!

     
  4. barnabasfarm

    November 2, 2012 at 5:35 PM

    I’m one of those weirdo farmer-types who raises meat the right way. (but, it’s not actually our farming practices which makes me a weirdo – I gained that label years ago..) It IS worth your effort to eat well! … And it doesn’t have to be as expensive as people think. Find the small, local farmer who carries the conviction to raise things carefully, build a friendship, and support each other in the effort.
    Great rant, Anita!
    [… too bad you’re not in MI. We’ve got the best chicken, beef, and pork around! Too busy feeding the young masses around here to have extra, organic produce to sell, but someday..] 🙂

     
    • Anita Neuman

      November 2, 2012 at 5:42 PM

      Hip-hip-hooray for being one of those “weirdos”! We have our own chickens, and my husband wants to get a pig and some sheep, but that would probably max out our space. In the meantime, we do buy all our meat locally and we love it!

       
  5. Jacquelyn Campbell

    November 2, 2012 at 5:58 PM

    Get sheep! get sheep! They’ll remind us of the flock of Jesus it will be wonderful.

     
    • Anita Neuman

      November 2, 2012 at 6:37 PM

      I love that! (Except that we may eventually eat our sheep.)

       
  6. C.J.

    November 2, 2012 at 6:10 PM

    You would think that people are informed enough not to fall for this kind of stuff any more. I used to drink 2-3 glasses/cans of Cola each DAY. I cut it down to a few times a week when I was pregnant with my youngest. The difference at the dentist alone is enough motivation for me. I’m a work in progress, though 🙂 My kids like my baked bread way more than store-bought, so from the first batch I made a month ago, I have stopped buying. Just need to finish off this gigantico bag of white flour and then try some whole-wheat 🙂

     
    • Anita Neuman

      November 2, 2012 at 6:38 PM

      Yeah, CJ! My kids love homemade bread, too. And cookies.

       
    • Jacquelyn Campbell

      November 14, 2012 at 10:02 AM

      Mixing different kinds of flours can make a nice bread if you want to try it.

       
  7. Heidi

    November 3, 2012 at 9:54 AM

    You go girl! I totally agree.

     
  8. Ericka Clay

    November 9, 2012 at 10:07 AM

    Love! I saw a clip from our local news station hinting that some of the food that says “diet” and “low fat” may not be as healthy as we think. Umm,duh!! I’m not sure why people believe anything in a package is somehow healthier than fresh veggies. And even if you can’t afford those – go frozen! Frozen veggies are even known to be healthier than fresh because they’re frozen at the peak time before they start to spoil. And don’t even get me started on things like Diet Coke! /rant and great post! Now to have some green tea and mellow out for a bit. 🙂

     
    • Anita Neuman

      November 9, 2012 at 10:13 AM

      Yeah, Diet Coke brings out my violent side. Green tea sounds good. (But only because it’s a wee bit early for some anti-oxidant loaded red wine.) 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
