RSS

Happy Holidays!

30 Nov

I say “Merry Christmas” to people. I’m a Christian, I celebrate Christmas and, as much as I’m able, I try to keep the December festivities centred on Jesus. However, I am not offended when people say “Happy Holidays” to me.

I don’t demand that people of different faiths start saying “Praise the Lord” instead of “thank you”. I don’t care if someone doesn’t bless me after I sneeze. (In fact, I would be most grateful if folks would adopt the Seinfeldism of responding to a sneeze with a hearty ”You are so good-lookin’!”) And I just don’t think it’s worth the hassle of trying to theologize people into saying “Merry Christmas” instead of “Happy Holidays”.

If the goal is to keep Christ in Christmas, I think we’re defeating the purpose when we get all up in someone’s face over them saying something polite to us.

If you want to get offended for Christ’s sake, do something to fight the sex trade industry. Or contribute to making clean water accessible to more people. Or feed the poor. Or adopt an orphan. Or visit a prisoner. You know…all those things that Jesus Himself told us to do in order to show how much we love Him.

If it makes you feel better, you can still wear your “Jesus is the Reason for the Season” sweatshirt while you’re at it.

So next time a cashier or barista wishes you a happy holiday, smile warmly and say “Praise the Lord!” (or perhaps just “thank you”). You might even say, “I hope you have a wonderful holiday as well.” I think Jesus would be pleased.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on November 30, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “Happy Holidays!

  1. Tammy Bull

    November 30, 2012 at 11:38 AM

    Whole-heartedly agree!
    Now, please write about something I can argue with…I am so very good at that with all the practice I get in my home 🙂

     
    • Anita Neuman

      November 30, 2012 at 12:00 PM

      Hmmm…something we disagree about….Nope! Can’t think of a single thing! Sorry.

       
  2. Kathleen Wells

    November 30, 2012 at 11:50 AM

    I VERY MUCH agree, Anita!!! (PTL!!)

     
  3. Gaya

    November 30, 2012 at 2:08 PM

    I agree. I think in the same direction when it comes to prayer in public schools. Is it so wrong it’s gone from the “public stage.” We can still pray as Christians for our school. Do we need to theologize the students into praying to God? I think prayer is important in the life of a Christian, however, I question whether God wants to hear a prayer that means nothing to the one praying, just because that is what’s done. Is it forcing our belief onto others? Like to hear your thoughts on that one. hmmm Tammy, can you argue?

     
    • Anita Neuman

      November 30, 2012 at 4:08 PM

      Any steps away from God (by schools or other public institutions as well as by individuals) are steps in the wrong direction, which saddens me. But I don’t think that forcing God on people accomplishes anything for His Kingdom.
      It does irk me (to put it mildly) when every religion except Christianity gets representation or floor time. But again, I feel like our over-arching response needs to be one of grace and submission to authority. When there’s opportunity to speak the truth in love and with gentleness, we should do that. And it’s a tricky line – walking that balance between speaking up and holding our tongue. I don’t always get that right. But as a general rule, I think it’s more Christ-like to err on the side of holding our tongue.

       
  4. Pauline Bott

    November 30, 2012 at 4:06 PM

    ONLY TRUST PEOPLE WHO LIKE BIG BUTTS…THEY CANNOT LIE

    Sarcasm in the private

    I FOUND THE “I” IN TEAM

    6 OUT OF 7 DWARFS ARE NOT HAPPY

    I HAVE SEXDAILY. I MEAN DYSLEXIA!

     
    • Anita Neuman

      November 30, 2012 at 4:11 PM

      That last one just about made me spew hot chocolate onto my laptop!!!

       
  5. stayawhileletschat

    December 2, 2012 at 7:11 AM

    Just found your blog. I completely agree. I struggle with this every Christmas. I get that there are differerent Holidays around this time but the most pronounced is Christmas. If I know that a person is Jewish, yeah, I’ll wish them Happy Hannukah but it’s hard to stop myself from saying Merry Christmas. It’s just more natural than Happy Holidays. After all, let’s be real, if it wasn’t for Christmas, there would be no CHRISTMAS shopping. No one says, let’s go Holiday Gift shopping… no, we say Christmas shopping. Sorry, that’s my two cents. 🙂

     
    • Anita Neuman

      December 2, 2012 at 7:35 AM

      Welcome! And thanks for reading and commenting. And MERRY CHRISTMAS! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
