RSS

Because Mondays Should Start With Silliness

14 Jan

Those stickers of stick-figure families on the back of everyone’s minivans? Bo-o-o-oring! The most interesting thing about them is the surprising fact that we as a society have not been able to come up with something more creative than the chainsaw guy. That’s it? Chainsaw Guy is the epitome of our collective resourcefulness and ingenuity? Someone made Chainsaw Guy and everyone thought it was funny so we stopped there? Really?!?!

Something had to be done about this bizarre cultural anomaly. And I figured I should be the one to step up to the plate, what with my extensive background in graphic arts and marketing and all.

So I made an off-hand comment on Facebook that a more realistic portrayal of my family would involve the stick-figure mom and dad making out and the kids puking. Fun conversation ensued. Later that evening, I had a half-hour lapse between chauffeuring gigs, so I drew this:stick family

And a friend who has a bunch of printing equipment at his office made that into a for-real sticker for my van. Unfortunately, it’s ridiculously huge and will take up the whole back window of said van. He claims he couldn’t make it any smaller…something about my lines being too thin to print and cut around and blah, blah, blah. Remember my “extensive background in graphic arts and marketing”? Mild sarcasm, that.

Last night as I watched the Golden Globes (which was not as entertaining as I’d expected it to be once Tina Fey and Amy Poehler finished their opening dialogue), I decided to doodle a couple more. This one here seems a little more realistic than the typical depictions of a family standing side-by-side like a criminal lineup:stick family techno

And here’s what life looks like every single day with young kids:stick family wrestling

Actually (and don’t tell my kids I told you this), I still have to give turns to my adolescent children when they catch me playing airplane with my five-year-old.

This one will have to wait until I trade in the Caravan for a Miata:stick family empty nest

Now, I’m not saying this is how I will feel when it is time to push my precious hatchlings from the nest. But I’m all about choosing joy. So I fill force myself to jump, dance, laugh, and toast their departure with a bottle of Goldschläger. Rest assured, Precious Hatchlings, I’ll be crying on the inside.

With that, I bid you Happy Monday! And yes, I am 100% willing to negotiate the sale of my brilliant artistry to any huge corporation for mass production. Or maybe someone’s already done all this and I’m just vastly unaware. It’s moderately possible.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2013 in Family, Humour

 

Tags: , , ,

13 responses to “Because Mondays Should Start With Silliness

  1. suburbanprincessteacher

    January 14, 2013 at 10:41 AM

    I’d buy one! Love it!

     
    • Anita Neuman

      January 14, 2013 at 1:25 PM

      Thanks! And I’d sell you one…if I knew how to go about that sort of thing.

       
  2. Sue Balfour

    January 14, 2013 at 11:40 AM

    You really are an incredible woman Anita. You have more talent in your pinky than I have in my whole body.
    I must remind myself: “Thou shalt not covet”!

    Be Blessed today Anita.
    🙂

     
    • Sue Balfour

      January 14, 2013 at 11:40 AM

      or be envious!

       
    • Anita Neuman

      January 14, 2013 at 1:26 PM

      That just means your body is tiny and I have abnormally large pinkies. 🙂

       
      • Tammy Bull

        January 14, 2013 at 9:30 PM

        heeheehee! But I agree with Sue…

         
  3. C.J.

    January 14, 2013 at 12:07 PM

    Love it!!!

     
  4. Sandy

    January 14, 2013 at 12:39 PM

    We are close to “needing” the last one, and trust me, it isn’t as great as people say. I kind of like my kids.

     
    • Anita Neuman

      January 14, 2013 at 1:26 PM

      I said I’d be crying on the inside. Don’t you believe me?

       
      • Sandy

        January 14, 2013 at 1:43 PM

        I believe you. 🙂 I just remember that I felt the same way when I was “in the middle of it”. Now that I’m at the other end, it kind of sucks.

         
      • Tammy Bull

        January 14, 2013 at 9:32 PM

        I believe you Anita… I’m not on either side, sort of on top of the mountain (?) or under it (?) but I like it just fine…enough stress to encourage a proper piety and prayer life and enough spare time to open something formally forbidden with no guilt whatsoever!

         
      • Anita Neuman

        January 14, 2013 at 9:37 PM

        I don’t actually think I’ll spend much time crying. It will be a HUGE adjustment and I expect it to be weird and nostalgic and somewhat intimidating, but I will embrace the great things about it and we will all just move on.

         

Leave a Reply

 
