RSS

Amazing Race, How Sweet the Sound

12 Feb

My husband and I have applied for Amazing Race Canada! This may not seem like big news. And if we don’t make it on the show, then it will be even less consequential news. But right now, during these weeks of waiting, the possibility of competing in The Race is never far from my mind.

I love The Race. I LOVE it! I can’t watch without mentally competing in every aspect of it. There are very few challenges that don’t look like fun to me. I’m not particularly athletic (read: I’m not particularly fast) but I’m quite flexible and I’m freakishly strong and I’m stubborn as all get-out. It all just looks like so much fun – yes, even with the exhaustion and the stress of competition and the frustration of mistakes. Fun! I really want to play.

Fortunately, Pat and I are of like mind. So we had our kids take some pictures of us to submit as our official head shots. Our 12-year-old took this one. I was willing for it to be our team picture because it’s unfathomably rare to get a great picture of Pat – smiling and eyes open. If you’ve read my previous posts about my struggle with feeling pretty, you’ll understand what a sacrifice this was for me, what with the voluminous chin-skin and all.

Anita and Pat Neuman

But I ended up with a decent solo head shot, so that helps me not hyperventilate.Anita Neuman

Pat’s solo picture was taken by our 5-year-old. When Pat saw what a good job I did at colouring out the picture frame behind his head, he asked if I could also digitally shave him. Um, no. This’ll have to do.Pat Neuman

And then we made our little audition video. Nothing fancy. No costumes, stunts, gimmicks or special effects…just us. Now that you’ve watched it, go ahead and watch it again. In fact, you should let it play through a few times. And share it on facebook. I’m really nervous that the youtube views are somehow going to count for something or influence the judges’ decision. Maybe they won’t, but still, I won’t complain if you watch it lots.

As I contemplated how on earth I could give this post some sort of spiritual depth instead of having it be solely about getting youtube views (not that there’s anything wrong with that), it occurred to me that the Bible talks about the amazing race. The Apostle Paul compares life to a race in 2 Timothy 4* and in 1 Corinthians 9**. And the writer of Hebrews gave us this oft-quoted, inspiring passage in chapter 12: “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith.” (NIV)

Many teachers and preachers, when expounding on these verses, are quick to point out that the Christian life is like a marathon, not a sprint. And I confess, I’ve often thought of it that way. Yes, it’s all about endurance and perseverance, not a quick 100m dash to the finish. But today’s contemplations have me thinking that it’s not like a marathon at all! The Amazing Race is a much better picture of what our life-long journey is like. It does require endurance and perseverance. But it also requires periods of rest. And we can’t do it without our teammates. And there are daunting obstacles to be faced and challenges that we never would have thought ourselves capable of overcoming.

The Amazing Race makes these verses much more relatable to me. I know that the depth of my understanding has been far more limited than someone who actually runs marathons (or runs at all, for that matter). But being able to picture myself in the Amazing Race has been a very cool mental association for me as I also continue in the life-race that is before me.

With that, oh faithful readers, I hope you’ve enjoyed this fresh perspective on these verses. And I also hope you’ll watch our video again. We are delightfully cute and I don’t know how CTV could possibly resist us.

.

*2 Timothy 4:7 (NIV) “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.”

**1 Corinthians 9:24-25 (NIV) “Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. 25 Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever.”

 
11 Comments

Posted by on February 12, 2013 in Personal Growth

 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “Amazing Race, How Sweet the Sound

  1. Sue Balfour

    February 12, 2013 at 2:34 PM

    I LOVE Amazing Race too! How great would it be for me to live vicariously through you on the Amazing Race. I’m praying you will get on!!!!!

     
  2. Jane H.

    February 13, 2013 at 1:27 AM

    I haven’t read all of this yet, I’ll finish tomorrow but I’m so excited. My husband never smiles for his pictures either….actually your Pat looks like a movie star in his picture compared to my Pat who looks like he is in a line-up. He always says…..”this is my smile” Yikes. I think you are very lovely….you have beautiful coloring….now I’m going to go listen to your audition tape tomorrow and I’ll be back again. I’ve heard of this show but never watched, but hey if I know someone who is on, I’ll be cheering you on. Do you win a million dollars or anything like that? I didn’t think so. Good night and sweet dreams. Hugs xoxo It’s fun making new friends.

     
    • Anita Neuman

      February 13, 2013 at 7:44 AM

      They haven’t announced the prize yet…I’m pretty sure it won’t be a million dollars. But I will definitely be letting everyone know when to watch if we make it on!

       
  3. Sherry

    February 13, 2013 at 8:00 AM

    I have never seen Amazing Race, but I wish you luck! The spiritual connection to running our race is certainly fitting for me today as I am having significant problems in that area.

     
    • Anita Neuman

      February 13, 2013 at 8:05 AM

      Hang in there, Sherry! “One day at a time, one foot in front of the other, with your face turned towards the Son.”

       
  4. Jane H.

    February 13, 2013 at 9:27 AM

    Anita is so right, Sherry. Sometimes, it hardly seems like a race at all, but a trudging walk up a high, steep hill. But one foot in front of the other….keep going, don’t look back, keep looking at Jesus and little by little you make it up that hill.

     
  5. janeh1037

    February 17, 2013 at 10:23 PM

    Anita, have you heard anything? I have lost some of your messages out into the netherworld….I’m sure they will show up again, but I can’t find them right now. Hmmm, I’d better look through some files. Hope you had a great weekend….it was cold here and I imagine it was cold at your house too…and the roads were slippery yesterday….I don’t think they would have been so bad if people hadn’t been in such a hurry to get wherever they were going. Talk about an Amazing Race. Have a good week….looks like mine will be a little busier than usual….we are going to see our son and family in mid-March, so excited to see my two grandchildren down there. So I have to get our taxes together and done before we leave. I’ll be waiting to hear about the race. Hugs

     
    • Anita Neuman

      February 18, 2013 at 9:30 AM

      Ah, we likely won’t hear anything until after submissions close at the end of the month. I will certainly let everyone know!

       
      • janeh1037

        February 23, 2013 at 4:49 AM

        I have not forgotten you, my dear friend. I have had a busy week….probably for others, a slow week, but for me busy…..doctor appointments and such and trying to do some cooking of different things which was kind of fun. Some were yummy and some not so much…..just wanted to say that I’m still thinking about you and when I got to 12 Oaks on Monday, I will give a little bow. I’m meeting friends for lunch at what is Macy’s but was always Hudsons….always went there for lunch with my mom and then with my daughter….I don’t think my grandson will be into it that much. Oh well, my daughter and I will go without him. I’d better get to bed. It is 4:45 and I have to baby-sit tomorrow while my daughter works….I think we will have to watch a little Caillou and learn some new songs before nap time. Hugs to you.

         
  6. Carolyn

    February 21, 2013 at 11:22 PM

    Your audition video is awesome! It was fun watching and hearing you as I’ve only “known” you through the blog. I too love the Amazing Race and will vicariously live through you if you make it! I love following your blog and your thoughts. they are as all over the board as my own which makes it relatable and good food for thought. Here’s to hoping they pick you! (and I’ll try to watch it another time or 2 just for good measure…hehehe)

     
    • Anita Neuman

      February 22, 2013 at 7:45 AM

      Thanks, Carolyn! You’re awesome!!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
