RSS

One Beautiful Body

23 Mar

Yesterday I read an article by Ann Voskamp on talking to sons about purity. Then, on the same day, Jamie the Very Worst Missionary posted an article on talking to sons about purity. The difference between their points of view was striking.

Ann’s writing is very floral. Soft and delicate. Abstract phrases intricately entwined to express profundity. Soft-filtered photos of shoes and candles – less to emphasize her point, more to set the tone. Create an aura. Welcome you into her peaceful space. Ann is tea and pastries, cushioned wicker furniture, a bright sunroom with sheer curtains, a warm breeze, intimate conversation with a close friend and Jesus.

At the very opposite end of the spectrum is Jamie.

Jamie gets up in your face and says what needs to be said. She is more about being real than being politically correct. She uses words that, in most churches, would get her quietly ushered out the back door or sympathetically invited to an Alpha course. Jamie is beer and nachos, lawn chairs around a roaring backyard campfire, choke-on-your-spit laughing…and intimate conversation with a close friend and Jesus.

Their readership probably doesn’t have much of an overlap. But that’s the beautiful Body right there. These are my sisters. They are doing their own thing as the functioning Body of Christ. They are using their own voice, their own gifts, their own spheres of influence. They both love Jesus and they are bringing their people to meet Him.

Some may look at one or the other and frown upon their methods, but they are both vital to the growth and health of the Body. They are vastly different, but my connection with them runs deep: we have the same life force pulsing through our veins. It’s all about Jesus.

Let’s keep our focus on Him and be the Body we need to be.

And since you asked (or you were about to), here’s Ann’s article and here’s Jamie’s article. Glean what you will from both and go talk to your kids about purity.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2013 in Beauty, Family, God, Writing

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “One Beautiful Body

  1. suburbanprincessteacher

    March 23, 2013 at 12:01 PM

    Those are both beautiful in their own way. Thank you for sharing.

     
  2. Tracy M

    March 23, 2013 at 2:11 PM

    You know, the few times I’ve read Ann V’s blog I haven’t been able to get into it like so many other women. I’m not sure why. I love her photography, and the way she writes is amazing, but I haven’t felt a bond or anything to get me to continue reading her stuff on a daily basis. I was intrigued by what you wrote about Jamie (as well as the subject matter), so I read her post… and I sure do LOVE that realness! 🙂 Thank you for sharing her!

     
  3. Tammy Bull

    March 23, 2013 at 9:03 PM

    Hey!
    This was an excellent way to share the same subject…Thank you so much! I had read Ann’s (didn’t everybody we know?) but reading Jamie’s is one of the reason’s I recommended her to you in the first place…just sooo real!
    I think she makes me look I don’t know, maybe, even not real enough…!? I must think on this some more, me thinks, yes.

     
  4. Jaclyn

    March 24, 2013 at 6:34 AM

    ah!! I LOVED Ann’s post when I read it last week. Loved it. But had not seen Jamie’s post (or even heard of her before). Oh my – I feel like I just read a breath of fresh of air. I love it – and may be late for church today since I now have a couple years of blog posts to read from the past 3 or 4 years. 🙂

     
    • Anita Neuman

      March 24, 2013 at 7:53 AM

      Yeah, when Tammy first told me about Jamie’s blog, I spent 2 solid days reading through the whole thing. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
