RSS

Unfathomable Filth

09 Oct

I have just had one of the most revolting experiences of my life.

My son attends a private school, which means we are obligated to be part of a fundraising committee. Someone contacted the committee asking if he could get a few volunteers to do some work and he would make a donation to the school. I jumped on that opportunity, hoping to get my required hours out of the way for this year. It sounded like he needed help moving. His request was for 3 or 4 men, but I was the only person who responded. (I guess he should’ve said 3 or 4 men or 1 woman!) The committee contact person told me to bring work gloves, but neglected to pass on the tiny little detail about also needing a very strong stomach. Lucky for me, I’ve already got that.

It was not so much a “move” as it was an “empty everything out”. The guy is the owner of a duplex and one of the apartments was recently vacated. He needed to clean it out and fix it up before he could look for new tenants.

ImageI got one picture before my phone battery died. This was one of four bedrooms. See those coffee cups on the table? Moldy. See that pizza box under the table? Still had pizza in it. See the thousands of cigarette butts? No, you’d have to start picking up filthy clothes to see those. Same with the empty pill bottles, potato chip bags, pop cans, broken glass, condom wrappers, dirty dishes, et cetera, et cetera, et cetera.

The large laundry/storage room (easily 10×15’) was literally knee-deep in dirty clothes covering the whole floor. The litter boxes were underneath that. Which means, yes, the cats (I don’t want to know how many) went elsewhere. There were piles and piles and piles of poo in the kids’ rooms. And by the smell, it was clear that the pee was soaked adequately into the unbelievable amount of clothes and toys and garbage that completely covered the carpets in those rooms.

I cut my hand on broken glass in the toddler’s room. A toddler’s bedroom! I cried all the way home.

I think this is the dirtiest I have ever felt in my life. And let me qualify that statement with a couple of other examples. I used to work in a group home for mentally challenged adults (one of whom was a smearer), and I scrubbed poo off every imaginable surface.  I have also visited slums and destitute orphanages in various African cities where I sat in filth and cuddled pee-soaked children. I have held hands that hadn’t seen a bar of soap in years – and then those hands stroked my face and hair.

Today was worse.

When I got home, I came in the back door, leaving my shoes on the porch. I literally dumped my purse out on the floor so I could take the purse down to the laundry room. I went straight to the basement where I stripped right down to my nobody-else’s-business. On my way to the upstairs shower, I stopped at the kitchen sink so I could scrub my hands and nails with a brush and lots and lots of soap, praying continually that today of all days wouldn’t be the day that I have to encounter an intruder in my home. I had a hot, hot shower with lots more soap and lots of harsh scrubbing. Then I disinfected everything I had touched since I’d been at that apartment: my phone, my keys, the steering wheel in my van, and certainly my shoes!

I do have a point in telling you this, my friends. This unfathomable filth is what sin has done to our world. This is what sin has done to us. This is what sin has done to me. My garbage may look different from yours, but it is all garbage. It is unholy and we cannot bring it into the presence of the perfect and pure God.

And yet, God loved us so much, even with all that filth, that He sent His Son to clean it up. While we were yet sinners, while we were yet completely obscured by the stench, the obscenity, the wretchedness of our sin, He died for us. He took all of that onto and into Himself so that we could be free from it.

We can’t clean ourselves up. There are no garbage bags, dumpsters, bleach or disinfectant that would ever be enough to make us presentable to the Holy God. We can’t do it ourselves. Jesus is the only way.

Faithful readers, you already know I love Jesus. I’m usually a little more subtle about pointing you in His direction, but I just can’t today. My sin is too much for me to fathom, and I am overwhelmed by the sacrifice that He made to take it away. I want to celebrate being made clean and whole and pure.

Thank you, Jesus!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on October 9, 2013 in God, Heaven

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Unfathomable Filth

  1. Lynn Mullins

    October 9, 2013 at 4:23 PM

    CLEAN!! (in more ways than one 😉

     
  2. Sandy

    October 9, 2013 at 4:28 PM

    Make sure you clean out that cut exceptionally well – lots of germ possibilities there, sadly.

     
  3. Shelby Somers

    October 9, 2013 at 5:23 PM

    Amen! And amen!

     
  4. Sandy

    October 9, 2013 at 6:19 PM

    I am NOT old enough to be your mother, but I am A mother, so….yeah….clean out that cut. I speak for Mom’s everywhere. 🙂

     
  5. Sheri

    October 9, 2013 at 6:26 PM

    I think you have your hours covered for the next year too! eewwww. I think I might have gotten there and said, sorry..can’t do it and walked away! Go you!! I’ve cleaned some pretty dirty houses but nothing compared to that! And those poor poor kids.. : (

     
  6. alittlewhit

    October 9, 2013 at 6:50 PM

    As I’m reading this, Cornerstone by Hillsong is playing in the background. You’ve got tears filling my eyes too!

     
  7. Kelly Somers

    October 10, 2013 at 8:26 AM

    Anita, this brought tears to my eyes – your analogy of the filth of our sin was “spot on”. Thank you for the reminder of the depths from which we were rescued.

     
  8. Dad

    October 10, 2013 at 9:24 AM

    Your for real mom was glad you did not encounter any hidden needles!

     
  9. Kathleen Wells

    October 10, 2013 at 3:55 PM

    I hope he gave a “HUGE” Donation!!! (We should want to respond to our Father God like that too!!!)
    ….I hope those “Children” (which would be the whole family) were ‘intervened’ with!!

     
  10. Jacquelyn Campbell

    October 11, 2013 at 9:21 AM

    Yes praise God, He is so good and loving.

     

Leave a Reply

 
