RSS

Lunatics and Alternative Health Care

26 Nov

There is a new student in the Neuman household! Yes, at 38 years of age, having lost all sense and sensibility, I enrolled myself as a student of aromatherapy. Last Thursday marked the beginning of my studies and before my student ID number was even a full day old, this story hit the news. A woman in Alberta is being charged in the death of her seven-year-old son because instead of taking him to a medical doctor to have his strep infection treated, she kept him at home and treated him with homeopathic remedies until he eventually died after being bedridden (and presumably in rather extreme pain) for ten days.

My first thought when I saw this article was, “Great. That is the kind of crazy I have just lumped myself in with.” But my next thought was, “No, that is the kind of crazy I signed up to fight against.”

Aromatherapy is part of the world of alternative health care. Most people find it weird and maybe bordering on voodoo. At the other end of the spectrum, a lot of the people who practice any form of alternative health care are belligerently opposed to modern medical intervention. There doesn’t seem to be a middle ground of common acceptance and understanding.

That, my friends, is where I intend to shake things up.

I am amazed at the wealth of knowledge and technological advances that our generation has available to us in the field of modern medicine. I applaud those who work diligently in those fields and I am so thankful to live in a country where medical health care is widely available to everyone.

I am also amazed by the vast history and intricate means of health care that God provided through nature, and that has been largely dismissed and forgotten with the development of synthetic pharmaceuticals.

I am firmly convinced that these two camps can coexist.

Look, we know there is a doctor shortage. We know it’s hard to get a family doctor and even when you find one, it’s hard to get an appointment. We know that hospital wait times – for ER visits, tests, and treatment – are dangerously long. And there is a whole heap of medicines and treatments that public health doesn’t cover.

I am absolutely not advocating for a violent overthrow of the medical establishment. My goal in educating myself and others is to provide safe, effective (and usually less expensive) alternative health care options in order to prevent or minimize a lot of the things that launch us into a panic-stricken scramble to the nearest MD. I want people to know how to strengthen their immune systems, to fight infections, to increase blood flow, to improve their focus, to deepen their sleep, to open their airways, to cleanse their digestive systems, to soothe sore muscles WITHOUT the side effects and risks of synthetic medications.

Pumping fewer antibiotics into our bodies means that our bodies will be so much more responsive to antibiotics when they’re really necessary. Building up our immunity means we can fight off diseases more efficiently. Ingesting and absorbing fewer synthetic materials means that our neurological systems, our digestive systems, our circulatory systems, our lymphatic systems (ALL our systems) can do what they’re meant to do instead of being bogged down with toxicity.

All of these benefits add up to less demand on the medical establishment, which in turn would make it more available when we really need it. That’s why I’ve headed off down this particular path.

Sadly, memorizing anatomy and Latin botanical names has already begun to interfere with my blogging. People, it has even begun to interfere with my daily crossword on readersdigest.ca. Horrors! But these are the sacrifices I need to make in order to save the world. Also, vacuuming. And cleaning the bathtub. So many sacrifices! But it will be worth it soon.  And in the meantime, I leave you with these words of wisdom: Ocimum basilicum and patella. (That’s basil and kneecap. I am totally rocking this memorization stuff!)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 26, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Lunatics and Alternative Health Care

  1. Jo-Anne

    November 26, 2013 at 12:42 PM

    Anita, congrats. I have been going to a doctor of naturalpath for over a year now. I haven’t felt this good in along time. It is truly amazing what “normal” doctors can do to the body. For instance my dad is on 18 pills a day and seems to be getting worse.

     
  2. Tammy Bull

    December 2, 2013 at 10:30 AM

    So proud of you as you extend yourself beyond your limits to learn and grow with God!

     

Leave a Reply

 
