RSS

Summertime ~ And the Living Is Adequately Bearable

08 Jul

The whole menu planning/grocery shopping/meal preparation thing is beyond my grasp. I cannot get it together. I cannot think of new meals. I can barely remember enough regular meals to fill a week. I can write an extensive grocery list of things like flour, juice, butter, olive oil – whatever we might be running out of. But I frequently get home from the store, put everything away, and then remember that I didn’t actually shop for meal components. I can spend $100 and not have anything to serve for supper!

And now it’s summer. (You’ll know this because my posts are short and far-between and probably not well-written. There are so many people here all the time and there is always talking and noise and needs to be met and fights to break up and I tend to spend most of June, July and August hiding under my bed.)

Summer makes my whole meal-planning ineptitude a fatzillion times worse. All these people here want to eat. Like every day. Multiple times a day! I have to plan for this and provide for this and supervise this. And I suck at this!

On top of that, I’ve been having a bit of a dietary problem lately. You see, due to year-end stress and busyness, my emotional immune system appears to have been weakened. (That is a real thing that I made up and self-diagnosed.) And now, through no fault of my own, I find that whenever I see the food that I have bought and provided for all the people, I want to put all of it in my own food-hole. Every day my jeans cry out to me, “Why do you hate us? All we ever did was try to make your thighs look skinny and your ankles look also skinny. And this is how you repay us?”

Do you see my dilemma? I cannot formulate enough cohesive thoughts to write a grown-up grocery list + all the people wanting all the food all the time + my compulsion to avoid the sight of the constant food-flow = a house full of cranky people.

Solution: off-load part of this chore!

So yesterday I handed my Better Homes and Gardens comprehensive cookbook to my 13-year-old and said, “Here. Look through this and find some recipes you want to try. Figure out some things that we can eat. I will buy the ingredients and you will cook them.”

She was so excited! She looked through the book and she made a list of recipes. I picked out a few to try this week, and headed off to the grocery store. Tonight’s dish is veggie-stuffed pasta shells with spinach and ricotta and carrots and all kinds of wonderful things.

If I’d remembered to buy the pasta shells, that would’ve made this plan super impressive, right?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2014 in Family, Humour, parenting

 

5 responses to “Summertime ~ And the Living Is Adequately Bearable

  1. Karen

    July 8, 2014 at 6:25 PM

    I can totally relate!

     
  2. Lynn Mullins

    July 9, 2014 at 8:14 AM

    I feel your pain, but maybe not to the same extent 😉

     
  3. Clara

    July 9, 2014 at 10:34 AM

    Anita, I read the first paragraph and saw ME! Wow! I have always been this way and thought I had some sort of human deficiency. I simply cannot plan for meals. I do not know how to even begin. And the people living with me always suffer because of this deficiency. And to see someone admit to the same problem on a social media outlet, makes me feel normal for once. Thank you for that.

     
  4. Tammy Bull

    July 9, 2014 at 2:41 PM

    Don’t hate me, but I always loved the meal planning! (planning of any kind still makes me kinda giddy)
    However, after the last few years when my family shrunk from 8 to only 3…I have no desire to even try and cook things that are not what anyone really ‘feels’ like eating that night.
    All this to say that, maybe we are just at different stages, and that when it is only you and Pat and the yummy one, you might delight to cook easy-peasy meals for 3!
    However, if you ever want some of my (strangely) happy facination with all things planned and organized… I am here for you! (I really am, my dear friend)

     
    • Anita Neuman

      July 9, 2014 at 3:00 PM

      I’m not surprised by this. 🙂
      And I do enjoy planning and organizing other things, you know. Which is why this particular lack is boggling to me.

       

Leave a Reply

 
