RSS

I Miss You (Yes, YOU)

03 Aug

We’re past the half-way point, folks. For those of you who love every single second of summertime and all the family stuff and all the togetherness – sorry. Summer is more than halfway done. Too bad for you.

For those of you like me (there are others like me, right?!?!), we can do this. The end is in sight!

I love my kids. And we do have fun times in the summer. I like playing and sleeping in and having friends over and vacationy things. But I am an introvert and we have a difficult family dynamic and summer is just hard. Finding quiet time to write and reflect on deep, inspirational things just doesn’t happen during July and August (as you may or may not have noticed).

So here I am, on the evening of Sunday, August 3. It’s a long weekend. My husband is out with 2 kids and a niece watching “Despicable Me” under the stars at church. 2 more kids and another niece are watching “The Amazing Spiderman” in our living room. I am hiding in the den with a glass of red thinking of all the things I should be doing with my time, and all I really want to do is catch up with you.

I could probably write a 10-part series on what’s been going on in my life since I last posted. I could write about our ongoing family drama. Meh. You could just read past posts. Nothing’s changed except that it’s more wearying all the time.

I could write about our cat going missing for a couple of days. There are some neat spiritual applications there. Some other time, perhaps.

I would love to just write something hilarious that would have you all in stitches. My brain is too tired to come up with anything at the moment. Check back in September.

I could tell you all about how I’m progressing superbly in my aromatherapy studies and that I’ve dedicated lots of hours so far this summer to preparing myself for sitting my exams in the fall. And that would be a load of horse manure. I have not even opened my books since the kids finished school in June. Maybe this week…

I could write about the most exciting thing that occupies a significant portion of my brain-space these days: my Cambodia Team. I’m leading a team of adults from my church to Cambodia in December. I am completely inadequate to lead this fine group, and yet I am so encouraged to just be part of this team and I love the challenge of pulling it all together. I will have to tell you all about it soon. Just not tonight.

I could write about self-esteem and self-image and women and modesty and purity and respect and all that. There’s still so much to be said and re-said. But maybe I’m not the best person to keep saying it. This is an area in which I feel so completely beat-up and trampled upon. Perhaps I should leave it to people who have won this battle to fill the internet with brilliant advice.

There’s so much I could write. And I will. In September. For tonight, I just wanted to say hi. I miss you. I miss spending the time to process my thoughts into words. I miss having you read those words and then laugh with (or at) me, or cry with me, or share your side of it, or just acknowledge that you understand. I miss my little blogging world. And I hope you miss me too, dagnabbit!

I can do this. August is jam-packed with things to keep the kids busy. That means I’ll be busy, too, but I can break it down into one-week chunks and it’ll be over before I know it. (Right? RIGHT?!?!) I can do it. And so can you.

See you in September!

Or maybe before.

But probably not.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 3, 2014 in Family, Writing

 

3 responses to “I Miss You (Yes, YOU)

  1. Kathleen Irene Wells

    August 4, 2014 at 7:06 AM

    God Bless you, Anita!!!!

     
  2. Tammy Bull

    August 4, 2014 at 2:08 PM

    Missing you too, dear one!!

     
  3. Heidi

    August 5, 2014 at 9:14 PM

    Good to hear from you! I can patiently wait until September or October as we all know that back to school is a super busy time too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
