RSS

Knock Knock

22 Aug

I know that all parents go through this developmental stage with their kids. And kids reach this stage at different times. And it takes some kids longer to catch on than others. Even bright kids that seem to learn everything else so easily sometimes struggle with this concept. That’s normal childhood and normal parenthood. Anyone making the decision to raise a child understands this before they begin.

But sheesh! I thought we’d accomplished this and moved on a year ago. I thought we were done! Why are we having to go through this whole stage again? I am losing it over here, people.

The concept of knock-knock jokes, of all things, might just be the death of me.

This is my life right now:

L: Mom, can we tell knock-knock jokes?
Me: (with phony enthusiasm) Sure! Knock-knock.
L: Who’s there?
Me: Anita
L: Anita who?
Me: Anita go to the bathroom.
L: (uproarious laughter) Okay, my turn! Knock-knock
Me: Who’s there?
L: Levi
Me: Levi who?
L: I need to go to the bathroom!
Me: No, honey, you need to use the name and make it into a funny sentence. Like this. Knock-knock.
L: Who’s there?
Me: Levi
L: Levi who?
Me: Leave? I just got here!
L: Ohhhhhh! Okay. Let me try it. Knock-knock.
Me: Who’s there?
L: Levi
Me: Levi who?
L: Why do I have to leave already?
Me: Well, that’s close, but you have to take the first name and then make up a funny last name so that the two names together make a joke.
L: Ohhhh! I get it. Okay. Knock-knock.
Me: Who’s there?
L: Levi
Me: Levi who?
L: Orange you glad I didn’t say banana?

Knock-knock.

You don’t have to answer that. It’s just me banging my head against the wall.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2014 in Family, Humour, parenting

 

3 responses to “Knock Knock

  1. Tammy Bull

    August 22, 2014 at 9:42 PM

    love love love

     
  2. Heidi

    August 22, 2014 at 9:52 PM

    You made our whole family laugh. We love it!

     
  3. alittlewhit

    August 23, 2014 at 7:52 AM

    I know this phase! We entered this phase for our second time this summer. We went to the library and borrowed several knock knock joke books. They were read aloud constantly for three days straight. And then the phase was over. I expect to go through this again in the future as the concept has not been fully grasped. But! … It’s just a phase.

     

Leave a Reply

 
