RSS

Long Lost Writer

06 Nov

Do you ever have one of those weeks when too many all-consuming things in life are happening at the same time?  That’s pretty much what 2015 has looked like for me. Hence, the lack of writing.

When last we chatted, I was writing my final exams for my aromatherapy and anatomy courses. And mere seconds after that, I flew off to Cambodia for a couple of weeks with a team from my church. And then I blinked and I was in Myrtle Beach for our first ever family beach vacation. And I’d barely unpacked from that when it was time to take my aroma-massage course, and then complete the requisite case studies for that certification. And then school ended for the kids. And one kid moved out while the rest of us went camping for a week.

Summer was a whirlwind of kids going back and forth to various camps and activities, another mission trip (husband and daughter to Zambia plus a short visit with friends in Ethiopia), a road trip to Halifax, and the blissful distance from the drama created by the one child who is no longer living with us. Praise the Lord and pass the gravy!

School started again before I was ready (that was a new experience for me) and then I launched right into my next course: reflexology.

Oh, and in the middle of all that, I moved my aromatherapy practice out of our house into an office downtown, painted our old home office and moved a daughter over into that room, ran into some trouble in the building I’d just moved into and had to move my practice AGAIN… And I think that’s it.

I thought about writing almost every single day. But honestly, whenever I had time to myself to sit (aside from studying), I only had enough mental capacity to play Candy Crush. I am on level 1087 now and I missed you.

But look! Here I am! I have been managing to look after my new baby business, AND be the plexus that holds all the carpooling constellations in order, AND sometimes remember to put the laundry in the dryer, AND make food for all the people that still want to eat every single day. Now, today, my resting heartbeat is slow and steady, my facial tics have relaxed, my brain is allowing me snippets of sleep, and my fingers are typing words and sentences.

I have no great theme to expound on. No brilliant witticisms or side-splitting hilarity. No deep theology or cultural challenges. Just a long-awaited (by me, if not anyone else) greeting. We will talk more soon, dear friends.

Oh, and you should probably get a massage or reflexology treatment and let me help you with your Christmas shopping. http://www.aperia.ca

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 6, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Long Lost Writer

  1. Regan & Tammy Bull

    November 9, 2015 at 9:40 AM

    YEA!!

     
  2. Julie Lewis

    November 13, 2015 at 10:08 PM

    Yay! A new post! Glad you’re all moved in to your new place. Will come in for some reflexology and Christmas shopping soon!

     

Leave a Reply

 
